Gemmology workshops

For a few years now, the Tournaire Maison has offered initiation workshops to gemology (the study of precious stones). Thanks to his passion for stones and his teacher's past, Mathieu Tournaire brings these workshops to life which allow you to discover the Tournaire House and its jewelry from another angle

Succumb to the beauty of the stones

Our gemology workshop, allows those who participate there to discover the science of stones, their meaning and how a jeweler manipulates and observes them. It also allows you to discover in another way the Tournaire House and its unique creations, which you will have the chance to manipulate during this gemology workshop.

The workshop takes place in 3 main parts

-The first is more theoretical and makes it possible to acquire the basic knowledge and the vocabulary necessary for the understanding of the workshop.

-The second part is devoted to the discovery of precious stones. The Tournaire Maison does not hesitate to break the prejudices that can be on them. You will hold in your hands diamonds, sapphires, opals and tanzanites that you can observe at your will thanks to an X10 magnifying glass.

-The last part allows participants to have direct contact with Tournaire creations because it is dedicated to their presentation. Between iconic jewelry such as the alchemy trilogy ring or the French kiss ring and more intriguing jewelry like the archipolis collection, you will discover, accompanied by a gemologist from the house tournaire, the spirit of the house and its values.

Thanks to its user -friendly and participative dimension, this workshop will allow you to immerse yourself in the world of jewelry and gemology.

Gemmologies workshops are offered at a price of € 50 per person on a selection of dates. You can contact your nearest Tournaire store for more information.

PRECIOUS STONES

The Tournaire Maison uses the most precious stones to design jewelry of timeless charms. Philippe and Mathieu Tournaire Façonnes and creates jewelry with finesse and elegance thanks to the unique jewelry know -how.

The colored palette of the precious stones

As far as we can go up, man has always made jewelry. Make to mark your passage, to evoke something or to symbolize your success. In general, he was fascinated by what he found in nature, especially the beautiful stones. But these are only pebbles, chosen for their particular color or shine, which we will then sublimate by size and polishing. The value that we attribute to a stone is not necessarily related to its price, it all depends on what value is attributed to it, sentimental or merchant ... Even a common stone can have value, it depends on what She talks to us. For example, if two lovers walk on the beach and find a pebble together, it will have much more sentimental value than another stone. The price is often synonymous with rarity for a stone, for example, shellfish had a high market value for people who lived in land, because it was rare for those who did not travel.
When I choose a stone, it is not only with the eyes but with the heart too, I choose it simply because it is beautiful. It must be its "sparkling" color, that the stone is alive. I do not choose a stone for its name but for the optical effect it creates.

But before presenting you the stones that constitute what I call my color palette, I have to give you the keys to understand how I look at the stones. The stones that are used in jewelry are "gems", hence the science that studies these stones holds its name: gemology. We consider that all the elements beautiful enough to be mounted in adornments are gems. It is important to distinguish between the different types of stones that exist. There are obviously natural stones, found by man in nature with their singularity. Thanks to the evolution of techniques and research, there are also synthetic stones. These are made by humans but have the same physical, chemical and optical properties as their natural model, such as synthetic sapphire for example.
Finally, there are also imitation stones, that is to say counterfeits of natural stones which can be just both natural and synthetic. They imitate its appearance, color and optical effect; But they do not have the chemical or physical properties. For example, synthetic zirconium oxide is the best known imitation of diamonds, but transparent glass can also be considered an imitation.

When I choose a stone, I take into account its physical properties and in particular its hardness, that is to say its resistance to scratch and abrasion. To measure this value, we use the Mohs scale, the ladder goes from 1 to the tender, 10 for the hardest. To have an idea, we consider that the gems whose hardness is less than 7 can lose their brilliance and their polish over time, due to the presence of quartz in the ambient dust but also because of the Things that we make to undergo the jewelry by wearing them. These must therefore be worn, maintained and stored with attention.
Another indication is important in the choice of a stone: its weight. We mainly use the carat as a mass unit of a gem that is equivalent to 0.2 grams. This value has been used since antiquity in gems trade. The word comes from the Greek "Keration", name of the carob seed renowned for its constant weight around 0.2 grams. But there is a distinction to be made, the carat is also used for precious metals like gold, it then designates purity. Thus a 24 -carat gold is 100% pure but it is soft, it is for this reason that 18 -carat gold in jewelry is more often used, like all major brands. This gold is made up of 75% gold, and the remaining 25% will give hardness and color to the alloy.

In this percentage, you can find money, copper, palladium ... in variable proportions.
Until 2002, the term "precious stone" was used to talk about diamonds, rubies, sapphire and emerald. It was a historic arbitrary classification which implied that there were precious stones and less precious stones ... Thus, since February 1, 2002, all the qualifying terms of the old classification are repealed, we are now talking about "Gems stones" to characterize all the stones formed in natural lodgings. This is the legislation, I just like to use the terms "stones" or "stones" to talk about these treasures.

The jewelry is thought of according to the choice of stone, I cannot afford to set up a too fragile gem if it is exposed to shocks, otherwise I adapt the jewel so that it is protected. Finally, the carat is important because it will directly influence the price of my raw material. But I do not choose a stone taking into account its size, as I always say: "Better a little pretty than a big ugly ".

Mohs scale

Ladder
Reference mineral
Means to determine the hardness by scratch
1 Talc Crippling under the nail
2 Gyspe Row
3 Calcite Rower with a room (copper)
4 Fluoritis-pace Easily striped with a knife
5 Apatite Ray with a knife
6 Orthosis-pop-Tanzanite Row
7 Quartz-Grenat-Tourmaline Raye with a file
8 Topaze-Emeraude Ray with tungsten carbide
9 Corundum Ray with silicon carbide
10 Diamond Ray with another diamond

The different precious stones of the house Tournaire

OPAL

DIAMOND

EMERALD

Tourmaline

PEARL

SAPPHIRE

SPINEL

AMETHYST

GARNET

PERIDOT

Tanzanite

The guarantee of an artisanal know -how without compromise

Our titles and labels

LES ATELIERS DE GEMMOLOGIE

Depuis quelques années déjà, la Maison Tournaire propose des ateliers d’initiation à la gemmologie (l’étude des pierres précieuses). Grâce à sa passion des pierres et son passé d’enseignant, Mathieu Tournaire fait vivre ces ateliers qui permettent de découvrir la Maison Tournaire et ses bijoux sous un autre angle

Succomber à la beauté des pierres

Notre atelier de gemmologie, permet à ceux qui y participent de découvrir la science des pierres, leur signification et comment un joaillier les manipule et les observe. Il permet aussi de découvrir d’une autre manière la Maison Tournaire et ses créations uniques, que vous aurez la chance de manipuler lors de cet atelier de gemmologie.

L'atelier se déroule en 3 grandes parties

-La première est plus théorique et permet d’acquérir les connaissances de base et le vocabulaire nécessaire à la compréhension de l’atelier.

-La deuxième partie est, quant à elle, consacrée à la découverte des pierres précieuses. La Maison Tournaire n’hésite d’ailleurs pas à casser les préjugés que l’on peut avoir sur ces dernières. Vous tiendrez entre vos mains Diamants, Saphirs, Opales et Tanzanites que vous pourrez observer à votre gré grâce à une loupe x10.

-La dernière partie permet aux participants d’avoir un contact direct avec les créations Tournaire car elle est dédiée à leur présentation. Entre bijoux iconiques comme la bague Trilogie Alchimie ou la bague French Kiss et bijoux plus intrigants comme la collection Archipolis, vous découvrirez, accompagné par un gemmologue de la Maison Tournaire, l’esprit de la Maison et ses valeurs.

Grâce à sa dimension conviviale et participative, cet atelier vous permettra de vous plonger dans l’univers de la joaillerie et de la gemmologie.

Les ateliers de gemmologies sont proposés au prix de 50€ par personne sur une sélection de dates. Vous pouvez contacter votre boutique Tournaire la plus proche pour plus d’informations.

PIERRES PRÉCIEUSES

La Maison Tournaire utilise les pierres les plus précieuses pour concevoir des bijoux d'exceptions aux charmes intemporels. Philippe et Mathieu Tournaire façonnes et créés des bijoux avec finesse et élégance grâce au savoir faire unique de joaillerie.

La palette de couleur des pierres précieuses

Aussi loin que l’on puisse remonter, l’homme a toujours fait des bijoux. Fabriquer pour marquer son passage, pour évoquer quelque chose ou pour symboliser sa réussite. D’une manière générale, il a été fasciné par ce qu’il trouvait dans la nature, notamment les belles pierres. Mais ce ne sont que des cailloux, choisis pour leur couleur ou leur éclat particulier, que l’on va ensuite sublimer par la taille et le polissage. La valeur que l’on attribue à une pierre n’est pas forcement en rapport avec son prix, tout dépend de quelle valeur on lui attribue, sentimentale ou marchande… Même une pierre commune peut avoir de la valeur, cela dépend de ce qu’elle nous évoque. Par exemple, si deux amoureux se promènent sur la plage et trouvent un galet ensemble, il aura beaucoup plus de valeur sentimentale qu’une autre pierre. Le prix est souvent synonyme de rareté pour une pierre, par exemple, les coquillages avaient une valeur marchande élevée pour les gens qui vivaient dans les terres, car c’était rare pour qui ne voyageait pas.
Quand je choisis une pierre, ce n’est pas seulement avec les yeux mais avec le cœur aussi, je la choisis simplement parce qu’elle est belle.Il faut que sa couleur « pétille », que la pierre soit vivante. Je ne choisis pas une pierre pour son nom mais pour l’effet optique qu’elle crée.

Mais avant de vous présenter les pierres qui constituent ce que j’appelle ma palette de couleurs, je dois vous donner les clés pour comprendre comment je regarde les pierres. Les pierres que l’on utilise en joaillerie sont des « gemmes », d’où la science qui étudie ces pierres tient son appellation : la gemmologie. On considère que tous les éléments assez beaux pour être montés en parure sont des gemmes. Il est important de faire la distinction entre les différents types de pierres qui existent. Il y a bien évidemment les pierres naturelles, trouvées par l’homme dans la nature avec leur singularité. Grâce à l’évolution des techniques et de la recherche, il existe aussi des pierres synthétiques. Celles-ci sont fabriquées par l’homme mais ont les mêmes propriétés physiques, chimiques et optiques que leur modèle naturel, comme le saphir synthétique par exemple.
Enfin, il existe aussi des pierres d’imitation, c’est-à-dire des contrefaçons de pierres naturelles qui peuvent être tout aussi bien naturelles que synthétiques. Elles en imitent l’aspect, la couleur et l’effet optique ; mais elles n’en ont pas les propriétés chimiques ou physiques. Par exemple l’oxyde de zirconium synthétique est l’imitation la plus connue du diamant, mais le verre transparent peut aussi être considéré comme une imitation.

Lorsque je choisis une pierre, je tiens compte de ses propriétés physiques et notamment de sa dureté, c’est à dire sa résistance à la rayure et à l’abrasion. Pour mesurer cette valeur, nous utilisons l’échelle de Mohs, les échelons vont de 1 pour le plus tendre, à 10 pour le plus dur. Pour avoir un ordre d’idée, on considère que les gemmes dont la dureté est inférieure à 7 peuvent perdre de leur éclat et de leur poli au cours du temps, du fait de la présence de quartz dans la poussière ambiante mais aussi à cause des choses que l’on fait subir aux bijoux en les portant. Ceux-ci doivent donc être portés, entretenus et rangés avec attention.
Une autre indication est importante dans le choix d’une pierre : son poids. Nous utilisons principalement le carat comme unité de masse d’une gemme qui équivaut à 0,2 grammes. Cette valeur est utilisée depuis l’Antiquité dans le commerce des gemmes. Le mot vient du grec « keration », nom de la graine du caroubier réputée pour son poids constant autour de 0,2 grammes. Mais il y a une distinction à faire, le carat est aussi utilisé pour les métaux précieux comme l’or, il désigne alors la pureté. Ainsi un or 24 carats est à 100 % pur mais il est mou, c’est pour cette raison que l’on utilise plus souvent de l’or 18 carats en joaillerie, comme toutes les grandes marques. Cet or est constitué à 75 % d’or, et les 25 % restants vont donner dureté et couleur à l’alliage.

Dans ce pourcentage, on peut retrouver de l’argent, du cuivre, du palladium… dans des proportions variables.
Jusqu’en 2002, on utilisait le terme « pierre précieuse » pour parler du diamant, du rubis, du saphir et de l’émeraude. C’était une classification arbitraire historique qui sous-entendait qu’il y avait des pierres précieuses et des pierres moins précieuses… Ainsi, depuis le 1 er février 2002, tous les termes qualifiants de l’ancienne classification sont abrogés, on parle désormais des « pierres gemmes » pour caractériser l’ensemble des pierres formées dans des gîtes naturels. Il s’agit là de la législation, j’aime bien simplement utiliser les termes de « pierres » ou de « cailloux » pour parler de ces trésors.

Les bijoux sont pensés en fonction du choix de pierre, je ne peux pas me permettre de monter une gemme trop fragile si celle-ci est exposée aux chocs, sinon j’adapte le bijou afin que cette dernière soit protégée. Enfin, le carat est important car il va directement influer sur le prix de ma matière première. Mais je ne choisis pas une pierre en tenant absolument compte de sa taille, comme je dis toujours : « Mieux vaut une petite jolie qu’une grosse vilaine ».

L'Echelle de Mohs

Echelle
Minéral de référence
Moyens pour déterminer la dureté par rayure
1 Talc Friable sous l'ongle
2 Gyspe Rayable avec l'ongle
3 Calcite Rayable avec une pièce (cuivre)
4 Fluorite-Perle Rayable facilement avec un couteau 
5 Apatite Rayable au couteau
6 Orthose-Opale-Tanzanite Rayable à la lime
7 Quartz-Grenat-Tourmaline Raye avec une lime
8 Topaze-Emeraude Rayable au carbure de Tungstène
9 Corindon Rayable au carbure de Silicium
10 Diamant Rayable avec un autre diamant

Les différentes pierres précieuses de La Maison Tournaire

OPALE

DIAMANT

EMERAUDE

TOURMALINE

PERLE

SAPHIR

SPINELLE

AMETHYSTE

GRENAT

PERIDOT

TANZANITE

La garantie d'un savoir faire artisanal sans compromis

NOS TITRES ET LABELS